Weather at the North Pole: -26°C Snow
RU
Weather at the North Pole: -26°C Snow
RU

A geologist, International Master of Sports in mountaineering, holder of the title “Snow Leopard”. Vasilii is a record holder who left his mark in the history of Arctic exploration: he led the Marine Live-Ice Automobile Expedition, which was the first to reach the Pole by wheeled vehicles; Vasilii Elagin is the main designer of the amphibian AT vehicle “Emelia”.

Vasilii’s experience includes 50 challenging high-altitude and big wall ascents, extreme downhill skiing, participation in sailing voyages and arctic expeditions. He organized and led the rally Paris - Moscow - Beijing, travelled about 1,000 km along the coast of the Chukchi Sea by “Buran” snowmobile, crossed Australia by an offroadster, drove 7,000 km through the Namib and the Kalahari Deserts.

My love of traveling and the Arctic began with the children’s books - the works of Jack London and Jules Verne. As an adult, I realized that I did not want to do the same thing every day, to live a normal life. I needed a different degree of freedom, which could be found in expeditions, ascents and adventures.

Aleksei Makarov’s “Burlak” is heavier than “Emelia”; its design is more complicated. When I saw the car project and traced the planned route, I decided to participate in the tests to see the machinery in operation. On top of it, it is an opportunity to visit the Arctic again. I’m looking forward to seeing it.”

Погода на Северном полюсе: -26°C Облачно
EN
Погода на Северном полюсе: -26°C Облачно
EN

Геолог, мастер спорта международного класса по альпинизму, обладатель титула «Снежный барс». Рекордсмен, оставивший след в истории освоения Арктики: Василий руководил Морской ледовой автомобильной экспедицией, которая первой достигла полюса на колесной технике, является главным конструктором вездехода-амфибии «Емеля».

На счету Василия 50 сложных высотных и стенных восхождений, экстремальные спуски на горных лыжах, участие в морских парусных путешествиях, арктических экспедициях. Он организовал и возглавлял ралли Париж — Москва — Пекин, прошел около 1000 км по побережью Чукотского моря на снегоходах «Буран», пересек на внедорожниках Австралию, проехал 7000 км по пустыням Намибии и Калахари.

Моя любовь к путешествиям и Арктике началась с детских книг — произведений Джека Лондона и Жюля Верна. Став взрослым, я понял, что не хочу каждый день делать одно и то же, жить обычной жизнью. Мне нужна другая степень свободы, и она — в походах, восхождениях и приключениях.

«Бурлак» Алексея Макарова — автомобиль более тяжелого класса, чем «Емеля», его конструкция сложнее. Когда я увидел проект автомобиля и изучил планируемый маршрут, захотел принять участие в испытаниях, чтобы посмотреть на технику в деле. К тому же, это возможность вновь увидеть Арктику. Я с нетерпением жду свидания с ней.